Tuesday, 16 January 2024

Crashlay - Figure Maker.



David Crashlay.

(various spellings).

at Sir Isaac Newtons Head, Long Acre, Covent Garden from at least 1765.

Some Information here from Jacob Simon.

https://www.npg.org.uk/collections/research/programmes/british-bronze-founders-and-plaster-figure-makers-1800-1980-1/british-sculpture-makers-c

Updated March 2021.


...........................

Trade Card Engraved by George Bickham the engraved signature in the middle bottom right and beneath the centre of the cartouche suggesting he was probably the artist.








David Crashlay, Long Acre, London 1752 -1786, at Sir Isaac Newton's Head, Long Acre.


If the address is given as 35 Long Acre this would situate his house (on the Horwood's map) on the corner of Leg Alley on the South side of Long Acre.

 

David Crashlay (c.1724-1798), variously spelt as Chrashlay, Crachley and Crashley, was a supplier of plaster figures and ornaments from the 1750s to the 1780s. 

He can be found in Long Acre in Westminster rate books, 1752-67, He would appear to be the David Crashlay who married Mary Addinall at St Anne Soho in 1748 and they had children, Samuel Miotto, christened at St James Piccadilly in 1750, and three sons and daughters christened at St Martin-in-the-Fields, John in 1752, Mary in 1754 and William David in 1756. 

Crashlay married secondly Amelia La Fortune at St Martin-in-the-Fields in 1757 and they had two children christened at this church, David John in 1768 (buried 1769) and Amelia Ann in 1769.

 

Crashlay had assistants, John Durant (fl. 1757-74) and James Calvert (b. 1737), who both exhibited at the Society of Artists, Durant in 1774 from Mr Crashley's figure shop in Long Acre, and Calvert from Mr Crashley's in Long Acre in 1783 (see Roscoe). 

Crashlay himself exhibited various reliefs modelled by Durant at the Society of Artists in 1775, 1776 and 1777.

1775-

67. The Triumph of Neptune; alto-Relievo, from a model of Mr. Durant.

68. Wisdom, Beauty and Power; alto-Relievo, from a model of Mr. Durant.

69. Four Bass-Reliefs of Boys; from a model of Mr. Durant.

70. A Figure of Ceres.

 

1776.

198. Ino, with the Infant Melicertes in her arms, leaps into the sea, and is received by Neptune; alto-Relievo.

199. Hero and Leander; alto-Relievo.

200. Jupiter and Europa; alto-Relievo.

201. Jupiter and Asteria; alto-Relievo. From the models of Mr. Durant.

 

1777.

189.  A large alto-Relievo, from a model of Mr. Durant: The Elopement of Helen with Paris.

(John Durant fl1757 -74 A former pupil of Joseph Wilton, apprenticed to him in October 1757).

. ....................

He would appear to be the statuary recorded in Long Acre in 1780 and 1784 (poll books).

 

Crashlay used his rococo-style trade card to advertise, ‘All sorts of Figures & Ornaments/ in Plaister of Paris, Made & Sold/ by David Crashlay, Figure Maker/ at SR. JSAAC NEWTON'S HEAD in LONG ACRE/ London.’ (examples, British Museum, Heal 32.13; Lewis Walpole Library, Farmington, Connecticut). 

His business, described in one instance as ‘Mr. Crachley's Figure Shop, Long Acre’, occurs on several subscription tickets as accepting subscriptions for new prints, including one for an engraving after Francesco Zuccarelli, 1756, and another, paired with it, after Thomas Gainsborough, 1764, both published by William Austin (examples, British Museum).

 

Crashlay was named by the Norwich carver and gilder, Benjamin Jagger, as a possible source for a medallion to crown a chimney glass frame, in a letter of c.1784 to Jeremiah Freeman, who was then working in London as a journeyman for Thomas Allwood: ‘I want a medallion for top of chimney glass [frame]... of some historicil subject, no naked figures. I think Crashlay near James St Long Acre can find[?] you cheeper than Flaxmen [q.v.] opposite the Adelphi.’ (Norwich Castle Museum, art dept archives, Freeman MSS, item 2).

 

In 1786 Crashlay advertised a sale on his premises at 35 Long Acre of "The Great and once valuable Collection of Statues, Busts, Vases, Alto and Basso Relievos &c’, lamenting that ‘after thirty-four years and a half constant endeavours,… instead of gaining a comfortable subsistence for himself and wife, in their declining years, he finds himself unavoidably getting in debt, owing to the total decline of his business, high rent, increase of taxes &c’ (Morning Herald 12 May 1786).

 

Crashlay was buried in 1798, aged 74, at the Elim Baptist chapel in Fetter Lane (burial record accessed through Ancestry). 

In 1799, his widow, Amelia, advertised for his next of kin or relations, if any, to make application to her 'where they will hear of something to their Advantage' (Oracle and Daily Advertiser 15 August 1799).

___________________________


Henry Spicer,  Enamel Painter. Exhibited at the Society of Artists. 

 At Mr. Crashleys, Figure maker, in Long Acre. 1765. 

122 A head; in enamel.

____________________

George Townley Stubbs, Engraver (1756 - 1815), at Crashlays.

Mr. George Stubbs, Junior. Exhibited at the Society of Artists. 

1771.

338. A drawing from a picture of Mr. Stubbs.

In 1786 he published engravings from Peters Court, St Martin's Lane.

__________________

James Calvert (c.1737 - )  A Wax portraitist at Crashlays.

In 1783 James Calvert exhibited at the Society of Artists giving his address as at Mr Crashleys Long Acre, 

In 1766 Calvert had been apprenticed to John Francis Moore in Berners Stand received a premium of 15 guineas that year for a relief Death of Socrates. 

In 1770 he was in Dublin attempting to be an actor - but appears to have worked with Patrick Cunningham producing miniature portraits in wax.

in 1783 he exhibited at the Society of Arts where he gave his address as at Mr Crashleys, Long Acre.

In 1787 he travelled to Jamaica to supervise the erection of Joseph Wilton's monument to Sir B Keith.


----------------------------

William Austin. fl 1750's - 1820.

He had been apprenticed to George Bickham, 17 Feb 1748 and went on to work with Thomas Major and Gerard van der Gucht.

His address is given as at Mr Cratchleys in 1756.

 https://britishmapengravers.net/entries/a-entries/william-austin/



An Engraved Subscription ticket signed by William Austin, subscriptions to be taken at Crashlay's for an engraving of an original painting  after Zuccarelli by Thomas Gainsborough, by William Austin.

"There being several ingenious gentlemen and ladies that would be fond to etch their own designs on copper, they may be taught by Austin, etcher and engraver, who has the honour to teach several of the nobility, gentry, &c” (Public Advertiser, 29 Mar 1758). 

He worked with Vandergucht until 1759 or possibly until 1763, by when he had set up on his own at the Print Warehouse in Bond Street, advertising a stock of some 30,000 prints, drawing and etchings. In November 1767, he abandoned print-selling for teaching and caricature.



Subscription Invoice For Mr Smith engraver dated 1756 for William Austin's Engraving

Note Subscriptions also taken at Mr Majors of Chandois St, Mr Vivares of Newport St and Mr Jefferies on the Corner of St Martin's Lane etc.


Image Metropolitan Museum

https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/820846


............................


A Copy of the Poll for a Citizen for the City and Liberty of Westminster 1749 has a reference to Sam Stephens in Little St Martin's Lane. Figure Caster.


Saturday, 13 January 2024

Queen Elizabeth's Bath by the King's Mews in Frontier Court.

 



Queen Elizabeth's Bath by the King's Mews.

Actually at the West end of Frontier Court, off the West side of St Martin's Lane, just East of the Little Mews.

The land was occupied by builders Haward and Nixon.

James Hawood and William Thomas Nixon


Anonymous drawing.

Image courtesy Museum of London.













Two Engravings from an Original Drawings by George Scharf, who lived on the opposite side of St Martin's Lane.


Queen Elizabeth's Bath formerly stood among a cluster of old buildings adjoining the King's Mews at Charing Cross, and was removed in 1831 along with the Kings Mews the North side of Charing Cross and the South end of St Martin's Lane for the improvements and construction of Trafalgar Square. 

Of this Bath a plan and view were presented to the Society of Antiquaries, February 9, 1832, and are engraved in the " Archasologia," xxv. 588-90. (above).

 The building on the plan was nearly square, and was constructed of fine red brick. Its chief merit consisted in its groined roof, which was of very neat workmanship, and formed by angular ribs springing from corbels. 

The form of the arch denoted the date of this building to be the fifteenth century. —

See Timbs's Curiosities of London, 1868, p. 39.



........................

Gentleman's Magazine Ref.



...............................


Detail from a Plan of the Kings Mews.

This undated plan must have been prepared before the rebuilding of the stables designed by William Kent in 1732.





I will in due course put together detailed studies of the Kings Mews and the area around Charing Cross.


..........................



Plan of the water supplies to the Conduits - 1715.

No 19 on the plan is at or near the Queens Bath in Frontier Court.
It doesn't show how the Great Mews was supplied with water - it must have needed a good constant supply for the number of horses stabled there.














............................


Queen Elizabeth's Bath within the premises of Messrs Hayward and Nixon.

at the West end of Frontier Court off St Martin's Lane.

Plan of 1830.




...............................



William Faden's 4th Edition of 1819 (revised) of Horwood's Map of London. 

Showing the proposed improvements.

The purchase of the inn (The Golden Cross) at the time of these improvements was by far the largest that the Commissioners had to make. It was concluded on December 28, 1827, when the extensive premises, with three houses in St. Martin's Lane and two houses and workshops in Frontier Court, were bought of George Howard and others for the sum of £3o,ooo.


Nos. 142 to 147, St. Martin's Lane, were also sold by the Bethlem Hospital to the Crown in 1830. They were then let to George Boulton. Nos. 137 to 141, St. Martin's Lane, some houses in Frontier Court and Haward and Nixon's premises in the rear occupied the remainder of the ground  on the 1649 plan and were sold by Haward's descendants to the Crown in 1827.


In 1816 W Head Plumber was at 141 St Martins Lane - Post Office Directory.(available and searchable on line) - very useful for locating businesses in London in 1816.

https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=hvd.32044098323918&seq=7


The 1649 Plan.


 https://www.british-history.ac.uk/survey-london/vol20/pt3/pp7-14






.................................



The Lower Part of St Martin's Lane, West side 1830.

Drawing by George Scharf - British Museum.



Note Moons Tool Warehouse - next to the entrance of the Golden Cross Yard.



Entrance to Frontier Court underneath the premises of S. Wolf, Taylor.

............................


Anonymous drawing from the Museum of London

I suspect a copy of a drawing by George Scharf.







............


View of the courtyard of 139 St Martin's Lane, Charing Cross - Haward & Nixon's premises. A view of a yard, with an office door.

Looking west.

Anonymous Drawing courtesy Museum of London.

prior to 1830.

https://www.londonmuseum.org.uk/collections/v/object-95196/haward-nixons-premises-before-alterations-in-1830/











.............................


Hayward and Nixon's Premises in Frontier Court viewed from a back window of a house on the West side of St Martin's Lane, pre 1830.


https://www.britishmuseum.org/collection/object/P_1862-0614-100







Messrs Hayward and Nixon subsequently relocated to 18 Old Quebec Street, Stangate, Lambeth.

St Martin's Northern Schools. 1850. - Illustrated London News, 19 October 1850, p. 312.

A sermon was preached on Thursday, by the Bishop of London, in St. Martin's Church, for the purpose of inaugurating the St. Martin's Northern Schools. These have been erected in Castle-street, Long-acre; the architect being Mr. James William Wild, and the builders Messrs. Haward and Nixon, at the expense of £2433.

.................................


James Fraser, 1740 - c.1813. Bookbinder.

4, White Hart Court, Castle Street, Leicester Fields. (behind Peters Court) Prior to 1779.


1, Frontier Court, No.139 St Martin's Lane (1802). (1782). Later Fraser and Son.

139 St Martin's Lane.

84, St. Martin's Lane.

James Fraser Trade Card.

1793.

Engraved by Walker

British Museum.

https://www.britishmuseum.org/collection/object/P_D-2-542




.........................



James Fraser looking rather smug.

Fraser's avuncular appearance belied his reputation as a stern taskmaster; in 1786 he became notorious for joining other bookbinding masters in a combination that prosecuted five journeymen bookbinders who were attempting to reduce their working day, which lasted from 6 am to 8 pm with a half hour break for breakfast and one hour for lunch. 

The journeymen lost their case and were jailed for two years. Source: Jonathan E. Hill, 'In a Bind', Electronic British Library Journal, 2014, article 17.

Extract above from BM website.


Engraved by William Poole after Dighton. 1807.









In this portrait, master bookbinder James Fraser (1740-after 1813) of St. Martin’s Lane holds a paper headed, “A Plan for reconciling the difference between the Masters and Journeymen Bookbinders.” On the table are three books: Memoirs of Mr. Pitt, Estimates of Bookbinders, and Anecdotes of Lord Nelson, along with the newspaper The Oracle, May 28 1802.

 

These elements refer to Fraser’s his role as one of three “Prosecuting Masters” in the 1786 trade dispute among bookbinders. He described the costs of binding different types of books and advocated a piece-rate method of working, rather than the customary fixed weekly wage. One request was to reduce the work day from 14 hours to 13 hours. A strike, a trial and imprisonment of five men followed.

for further info. see - https://books.google.com/books?id=tJHPAAAAMAAJ&pg=PA120&lpg=PA120&dq=james+fraser+bookbinder+prison&source=bl&ots=vqv5_bJ5sC&sig=oFwnsTTMhSr12HCWc-Mq0YIQerI&hl=en&sa=X&ei=thOjVd-qENLfggSGgbjYCg&ved=0CDEQ6AEwBQ#v=onepage&q=james%20fraser%20bookbinder%20prison&f=false


Images and information above from


https://graphicarts.princeton.edu/2015/07/13/the-difference-between-bookbinders/


...................


Trade Card of Fraser and Son.

Removed to 84 St Martins Lane.


https://www.britishmuseum.org/collection/object/P_Heal-16-19

............................................

Thomas Harris, Cabinet Maker.

 2 Frontier Ct, St Martin's Lane, London, c (1786). 

Took out a Sun Insurance policy on 31 July 1786 for £100, £20 accounting for utensils. [GL, Sun MS vol. 338, p. 231]


https://bifmo.furniturehistorysociety.org/entry/harris-thomas-1786..

Moon's Tool Warehouse, 145 St Martin's Lane.

https://mshepherdpiano.com/antique-piano-tools/http-mshepherdpiano-com-antique-piano-tools-early-english-mitre-planes-part-ii/

......................................

The Adventures of Jack Wonder written by himself.

London : printed for T. Jones, at his circulating library, in Great May's-Buildings, St. Martin's-Lane, 1766?


Wednesday, 10 January 2024

Two Interiors by Louis Phillipe Boitard



Two Exquisitely Detailed Drawings perhaps by Louis - Phillipe Boitard (fl. 1733 - 67).

The Perruquirs and the Merchant Taylors.

Although the Merchant Taylors drawing seems to have been signed by Hubert Gravelot. 



Louis-Phillipe Boitard. 

He was first noted by George Vertue in 1742: ‘Boitard engraver, lately come from Paris—some merit—good stock of assurance ’ (Vertue, Note books), although it seems that he had been in London from at least 1733.

Boitard may have spent some time again in France between 1741 and 1743.

His father Francois (c. 1667 - 1719) was born in Toulouse and pupil of La Fage (1656-1690); to London for a few years c.1709, died after 1717; father of Louis Philippe. Mariette calls him 'homme inquiet et debauche', notorious for a set of postures? Returned to Holland after London and died in The Hague.

May have acted as agent to purchase pictures for Dr. Meade's collection.

Signature of Boitard inv. on frontispieces in earliest illustrated edition of Beaumont and Fletcher's Plays, possible early illustrator of Shakespeare? (see H.A. Hammelman article in Country Life, September 24th, 1959).

The British Museum website states

"at the Golden Pineapple in Durham Yard in the Strand, London


Louis Philippe Boitard,sometimes incorrectly called Louis Pierre Boitard. Draughtsman and engraver; son of François Boitard (1667-1719), born in France; based in London 1709 to 1712 and with whom he probably trained; during 1740s he worked as a journeyman in the studio of the engraver, William Henry Toms, alongside the young John Boydell who recorded that he was addicted to snuff, always indigent and drowned in the New River (Autobiography, p.84).

Attracted notice of Vertue in 1742. Designer and engraver of satirical prints, book illustrations, theatrical portraits, political satires, (including The Covent Garden Frolick and The Present Age BM); also portraits representing 'Remarkable Persons' including Thomas Brown, Elizabeth Canning, Maria Gunning, James Maclean (highwayman) and Hannah Snell ('the female soldier'); in 1753-4 supplied designs, engraved by Robert Hancock to the Battersea enamel factory; his designs also transferred to Worcester porcelain; married Englishwoman and had a son and daughter; surviving sketches and drawings display his observations on the street life of London; his handling of pen and wash has affinities with Hogarth, combined with rococo of his countryman Gravelot.


An album containing 65 drawings by Boitard evidently compiled in the workshop of the print-publisher John Bowles was in the possession of L. G. Duke in the 1950s, but was subsequently broken up and its contents dispersed".




At the Perruquiers.

This sheet is a preparatory drawing for an (unpublished) engraving.

The Perruquier was also a Hairdresser and Barber.

Fascinating depiction of a Georgian shop interior - with an early illustration of a dated lead water cistern of 1733, initialed HWM  in situ over a lead lined sink (containing a barbers shaving bowl).









Bonhams. London.  Lot 7, 23 Sept 2008.

 Pen and ink and wash.

22.5 x 31cm (8 7/8 x 12 3/16in).

This superb drawing of the interior of a Perruquier shows the making of wigs and the very interesting detail of a lead cistern with brass spiggot, with the date of 1753 and initials HWM above what appears to be a tilting wash basin/barbers bowl.

Prepared for engraving. Although no engraving is known - Perhaps one of a series certainly a pair to the drawing below.


Robert Campbell's The London Tradesman of 1747, was intended to guide potential apprentices and employees. 

1747 Edition available online at the Wellcome Trust website

https://wellcomecollection.org/works/pbn9ru59/items

The Third edition of 1757 available online at Google Books. 

https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/The_London_Tradesman.html?id=nNoHAAAAQAAJ&redir_esc=y

Campbell states that the peruke maker 'has his fashions from Paris, like all other tradesmen, and the nearer he can approach to the patterns of that fickle trade, the better chance he has to succeed with his English customers.'

...................................


The Merchant Taylors



The sheet is a preparatory drawing for an engraving by George Bickham entitled 'The Merchant Taylors', published 29 June 1749.

Bickham was working at Mays Buildings, a court on the East side of St Martin's Lane.

Image from the Royal Collection.

https://www.rct.uk/collection/913279/a-tailors-shop

What appears to have been missed is the signature of Hubert Gravelot in the bottom left corner of this drawing .



..................


The Merchant Taylors.

Engraved and Published by George Bickham (1706 - 71) at May's Buildings (off St Martin's Lane).

1749.

https://www.britishmuseum.org/collection/object/P_G-12-111


Info below from BM website

George Bickham was at the Blackmoor's Head over against Surrey Street in the Strand (c.1740-1).

May's Buildings, Covent Garden by 1741.

In an advertisement in the Daily Post, 13 April 1741, Bickham gives both the above addresses.


Printmaker and publisher; son of George Bickham the Elder  a prolific publisher of a very wide range of prints; first major publication, a series of engraved song sheets entitled 'The Musical Entertainer' (1737). 

Apprentices: William Austin (1747), and his nephew Thomas Butcher (1759). 

Some prints published by Bickham seem also to have been engraved/etched by him although lettered with pseudonyms. 

Announced his retirement on 25 April 1767 (Public Advertiser) stating that his business would be continued by Thomas Butcher (q.v.). Died in Richmond, Surrey, on 21 June 1771, leaving his property to his widow, Elizabeth; sale of his copper plates and rolling press advertised in the Public Advertiser, 9 January 1772.

Collaborated with his father, and many of their prints have not been properly identified; when there is any doubt, prints have been placed under George Bickham the Younger.

A broadside dated 1745 (1898,0520.166) describes Bickham's trade: 'Where all Sorts of Picture-Work, as well as Writing and Shopkeeper's Bills, are exectued in a neat Manner, and at the most reasonaable Rates. Authors and Booksellers may have Frontispieces and Cuts, for Books, design'd, drawn, and engraved in the best Taste, and printed in the cleanest Manner, to produce a beautiful Impression, at the lowest Prices: As also Pictures neatly framed and glazed: Where all Gentlemen, Merchants, City and Country Shopkeepers, and Chapmen, may be furnished at the best Hand.'






...............................


The Strand Riots - Ist July 1749.

Boitard.

Published by Robert Sayer of Fleet Street




The rioting that destroyed a bawdy house on the Strand. Lasting from July 1st through July 3rd, the London neighborhood was the site of continuous violence. It began when a sailor was robbed by a prostitute.

Her pimp, assaulted the sailor who returned with a group of his shipmates that night.

Boitard depicts "The Sailor's Revenge" on that establishment in this print.

 

The Strand Riot of 1749 is remembered for the wig maker Bosavaren Penlez who was executed for his role. Penlez was caught looting the “tavern”or Bawdy House of Peter Wood on the third night of the riots and became a scapegoat.

Henry Fielding defended the court's sentence, though many were appalled by it. Politics played a significant role in the city's response to the riot, and the failure to indict any sailors may be a reflection of that.

see The Newgate Calendar excerpt -



...........................

Self Portrait with two friends.


Joe Rock in Robert Gordon, Goldsmith and Richard Cooper, Engraver: A glimpse into a Scottish atélier of the eighteenth century. Published in the Silver Studies 2005 The Journal of the Silver Society.

https://www.academia.edu/100809896/Robert_Gordon_Goldsmith_and_Richard_Cooper_Engraver_A_glimpse_into_a_Scottish_at%C3%A9lier_of_the_eighteenth_century

Makes the case for this drawing being "A portrait of Andrew Bell and his friends, in his tenement flat in Edinburgh, painted between 1745 and 1752".

The central figure is the artist, Boitard who has depicted himself as the quintessentially neat Frenchman in fashionable clothes and powdered wig. 

The gentleman on the right looks very like the later portraits of the antiquarian, Gavin Hamilton (1723-98) and it may be him, as he was in Edinburgh in 1750-52 on family business. 

The figure on the left is almost certainly Andrew Bell with his deformed legs spread-eagled, in a manner that he could not avoid. His face may be compared with the portrait of him playing the fiddle, by Paul Sandby, now at Windsor and inscribed, 'Mr. Bell, engraver of Edinburgh, del 1758'.




....................

Holbein's Gateway and Jones's Banqueting House, Whitehall.

12.1 x 16.5 cms


https://collections.britishart.yale.edu/catalog/tms:1663





...................................


For Boitard see -

Cyril Cook, 'Louis P. Boitard and his designs on Battersea enamels', Apollo March 1953 p72-5. Madeleine Blondel, 'Loius-Philippe.

Boitard, Illustrateur Du Fantastique', Gazette des Beaux-Arts, Paris 1987, vol CX, pp165-72.

.............................

For his series of engraved illustrations in Polymetis: or, an enquiry concerning the agreement between the works of the Roman poets, and the remains of the antient artists. Being an attempt to illustrate them mutually from one another. In ten books. / By the Rev.d Mr. Spence. 1755

see - https://arachne.dainst.org/entity/1942007

here is an example -




Public Houses and Pawnbrokers in and Around St Martin's Lane.



 A Preliminary List of the St Martin's Lane Area Public Houses in the Early 18th Century.


From - https://www.academia.edu/32269006/On_Cribby_Islands_proof

Interesting website referring to the Bermudas and Porridge Island the area East of the South end of St Martin's Lane and North of the West end of the Strand.


............................


Angel & Crown, 58 St Martin’s Lane. 1727.

Bear & Staff, 11 Bear St. 1714.

Black Boy & Apple Tree, 49 St Martin’s Lane. 1737.

Black Boy & Harrow, 54. St Martin’s Lane 1737.

Black Horse, 10, later 11, Bedfordbury, c.1721.

Chandos, 29 St Martin’s Lane, c.1710.

Coach & Horses, 90 St Martin’s Lane 1725.

Cock & Bottle, 21 Bedfordbury 1736.

Golden Fleece, Sheltons Court, Bedfordbury. c.1738.

Goldsmith’s Arms, 42 Bedfordbury. 1745.

Green Man, 20 New Street c.1743.

Green Man & French Horn, 54 St Martin’s Lane 1744.

Half Moon & Candles, 36 Bedfordbury.

c.1704Horse & Groom, 31 Bedfordbury 1739.

King of Prussia’s Head, 23 Bedfordbury 1740.

Lemon Tree, 4 Bedfordbury c.1737.

Monmouth, 17 Hemming’s Row/42 Castle Stc.1739.

Pineapple, Castle St. 1733.

Porcupine, 40 Charing Cross Rd c.1730.

Red Lyon, Hop Gardens. 1735.

Robin Hood, 45 Castle St. 1732.

Star & Garter, 33 St Martin’s Lane c.1737.

Sutherland Arms, 7 Great Mays Buildings 1738.

Swan, 14 New Row 1733

Thistle & Crown, 39 St Martin’s Lane .1735.

White Lyon, 13 Hemmings Row. 1737.

Pubs attested in the first half of the 18th century in the area covered by the Strand Bermudas. Data taken from Garrod and Garrod (2002: 7)


..........................................



Some Public Houses linked with Freemasonry.


Red Lion, Tottenham Court Road, London, 1723.

Goat, at the foot of the Haymarket, London ,  1730.

Bedford Court Coffee House, Bedford Court, Covent Garden, London.   1734.

Private Room, Red Lion Street, Holborn, London,  1735.

Turk's Head, Fleet Street, London,    1736.

Cross Keys, corner of St. Martin's Lane, London,    1736.

Le Guerre Tavern, St. Martin's Lane, London,             1738.

St. Martin's, St. Martin's Lane, London,         1738.

Turk's Head, Temple Bar, London,     1738.

Bedford Arms, Covent Garden, London,       1739.


https://www.dhi.ac.uk/lane/record.php?ID=43


.........................


Pawnbrokers 


Lancaster Court, between Stand and St Martin in the Fields Church. The Rainbow Coffee House, etc.

 


Lancaster Court. Strand.

Some notes -

Post under construction.

Lancaster Court was built on the site of the King's Head.

The whole area south of St Martin in the Fields Church was cleared to make way for the improvements including Trafalgar Square to the west end of the Strand in 1830. 



Although published in 1755 this map is based on an earlier map.

--------------------

The Courts running North from Charing Cross and the West End of the Strand and east from the lower end of St Martin's Lane..

35, Hunts Court. Off St Martins Lane.

36,Woodstock Court. Off Charing Cross

37, The Checker Inn. Off Charing Cross

38, Starr Inn.

39. Kings Head Inn (later Lancaster Court).

40 St Martin's Court.

41, Hewets Court.

42, Church Lane.

43, Robin Hood Court.

44, New Round Court.

45, Round Court.






Map from Stow's Survey of 1755.

It is substantially the same as - the map from  John Strype's edition of John Stow's, 'Survey of the cities of London and Westminster and Borough of Southwark' of the 1720 edition).

This in turn was based on a 1687 map by Richard Blome.

So not entirely to be trusted.

It is very useful for the detail of the courts running northward from the Strand.



........................................





Horwood's Map of London.1799.

Depicting Hunts Court, Hudsons Court and Lancaster Court.


........................................


Survey of the Lower end of St Martin's Lane.

Made just prior to the demolitions and clearance.

Showing Hudsons Court the first court East of St Martins Lane off the Strand





....................

The Rainbow Coffee House, Lancaster Court, between Strand and St Martin's Lane.

A few notes -

Active c. 1702 - 55.

Not to be confused with several other similarly named Coffee Houses.

(to be expanded on in due course).


https://doi.org/10.1093/ref:odnb/94590


The Rainbow was described as an "informal talking shop" for French speaking intellectuals in Chapter 9, The Religious Culture of the Huguenots, 1660-1750 edited by Anne Dunan-Page.

Voltaire visited in 1727.


...............................

For The Rainbow, Dr John Misaubin and early Freemasonry see

https://www.thesquaremagazine.com/mag/article/202108the-much-maligned-dr-john-misaubin/



....................................






Margaret Moffatt at the Golden Key and Star, Lancaster Court

c.1769.

Wellcome Collection.

Also available at - https://archive.org/details/bim_eighteenth-century_margaret-moffat-at-the-_moffat-margaret_1769


..........................


A catalogue of music, printed for William Napier (1740 - 1812), no. 474, at the corner of Lancaster Court, Strand, London, circa 1781. He must have been on the opposite corner to Francis Barron.

Copy in the Wellcome Collection.

https://wellcomecollection.org/works/mc6pkpmm


..........................


Staunton and Sons, Corner of Lancaster Court and the Strand.1829.

W. Pocknell's fishmonger's shop, at no 473, next to the shop on the east corner of Lancaster Court; with figures inside, including a customer near the doorway, no 474, the shop premises of Staunton & Son, stationers, seen beyond at left, and adjoined at right Stretton's. 

Graphite drawing.

1829.

George Scharf.

British Museum.






Lancaster Court from the Strand - Note the date on the Street Name stone of 1715. 

This suggests the date of the building of the court on the site of the former Kings Arms.

Dated 1829.

George Scharf.

British Museum.
..................





View looking North East from the rear window at George Scharf's home at 3 St Martin's Lane.




Looking North East over Hudsons Court (off the Strand) and Hunts Court (off St Martins Lane).

The drawing annotated "back of houses in Lancaster Court.





..........................



Francis Barron and the Barron Family.

Ironmongers.

475/476 The Strand, Westminster.



Receipt dated 16 March 1756 for a quart Turkey Coffee Pot 

Signed James Hawkes.

Hawkes lived at the premises on the corner of Surrey Street and the Strand.

Francis Barron was his father in law.


In 1756 433. (M.) James Polk , otherwise Pollock , was indicted for stealing two locks, value 8 s. three iron keys, value 3 s. five pair of steel snuffers, value 5 s. two brass cocks, value 2 s. one iron padlock, one frame saw, four pair of tongs, four iron fire-shovels, four iron pokers, eighteen iron screws, one pair of pincers, and one hand-vice , the goods of of Francis Barrow and James Hawkes , September 27 1756

He lodged with Charles Smith at Bowl Yard St Giles with his wife and three children.

Sentenced to be whipped.


https://www.oldbaileyonline.org/record/17561020

...............................



There is a record of a court case of John Cardell who was working as a journeyman at a age of £20/annum for Philip Nind in 1743. 

https://www.british-history.ac.uk/petitions/westminster/1740s


























Everything for the fireplace and kitchen.

The interior of Francis Barron's shop on the corner of Lancaster Court and the north side of the Strand, Westminster. c.1830.

Drawing by George Scharf.

British Museum.



.........................


William Humphrey (1745 - 1810). Engraver at Lancaster Court - 1786.

Brother of Hannah Humphrey.


1765: near New Street, St. Martin's Lane (CS p. 715),

Nov 1771- 15 June, 1774: The Shell Warehouse, opposite Cecil Court, St Martin's Lane

June 1774-October, 1778: Gerrard Street, Soho,

1776-88: 227, Strand (often in combination with 18 New Bond Street),

April 1777- March, 1778: 70 St Martin's Lane.

September 1780-1785: near Temple Bar, Strand (occasional variant on 227 Strand).

1786: Lancaster Court (occasional).

1801: 4 Rupert Street. Soho.


.............................


R. Theed. Sword Cutler, Lancaster Court.

c. 1800.

https://royalarmouries.org/collection/object/object-15460


......................


Harrisons, Printers, 6 Lancaster Court. c 1801 - 29.

moved to Orchard Street, and subsequently to 45, St Martin's Lane.

James Harrison -

..................

Note to self - Residents and Occupations St Martin's Parish, 1818.

The Poll Book, for Electing Two Representatives in Parliament for the City, 1818.


Very useful publication giving the residences and occupations of St Martin's parish and other Westminster Parishes.

Available on line

see - https://books.google.co.uk/books/about/The_Poll_Book_for_Electing_Two_Represent.html?id=bSJkAAAAcAAJ&redir_esc=y

.............................


The location of Lancaster Court between St Martin's Church Yard and the Strand.

From Horwoods Revised Map of 1819.

showing the projected "improvements"




..............................

David Hume wrote in 1737 "I lodge at present in the Rainbow Coffee House in Lancaster Court"

..........................




..............................




Drawing of the North side of the Strand.

March 1830.

George Scharf.

British Museum.

In the middle of this drawing is the premises of Banks (sometimes Bancks)
at the sign of the Golden Spectacles.

An eminent instrument-maker, Banks was Optician to the Prince of Wales, later George IV.


Robert Banks traded from 440 Strand from 1795 - 1804 then later from 441 between 1805 and 1830.



................................


Sixth Report of the Commissioners of Woods Forests and Land Revenue.

Vol 270, 1830.

Dated 5 June 1829.

Available on line.

Most of the properties were leasehold but a few were freehold.

This report gives the names and addresses and occupations of the owners or leaseholders who were bought out for the demolitions and improvements to the West end of the north side of the Strand, at the time when George Scharf was living above the shop at no 3 St Martins Lane.

The freeholders of 3 St Martins Lane.



Scharf moved to 14 Francis Street in 1830.

3 St. Martin's Lane, 1817-30; 14 Francis Street, Tottenham Court Road, 1830-1848; 

1 Torrington Square, 1848-1856.

..................